4:45am

 

4:45am.

 

Who enjoys leisurely sinking in quicksand? Who finds pleasure in laying belly up in a giant pile of mud? Who can’t help but savor the feeling of trudging through a waist-high tank full of honey? I presume there are healthy and positive aspects to each of these. The quicksand and mud probably do wonders for your skin, and it works your muscles as well. As for the honey, at least that smells and tastes delicious, right? My main question is this, who genuinely fancies staying idle in the same place?

 

GROWTH :: progressive development.

 

The basis of growth begins with our foundation. Like a tree, it starts out as a tiny seedling. It takes an immense amount of time for the roots to dive deep and develop. They need to grow and strengthen themselves before they can hold the weight of the tree above them, which faces trials and turmoil throughout the seasons. But, how beneficial would the tree be if it didn’t grow? What if it was fearful of the challenges it would soon have to face, and remained a tiny seedling?

 

Colossians 2:6-7 // So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

 

Isaiah 40:30-31 // Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

 

James 1:2-4 // Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds,  because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

 

Recently, I have been on a high in my spiritual fullness with Jesus. I have grown a bit tired and weary at times, but I have had this constant energy to keep pushing forward. I have my eyes set on who I want to become. I long to be stronger, to be bolder, to be steadier. But I can’t just skip to the dream, I have to work for it. I have to deepen my roots before I can take on larger storms.

 

I have set my alarm for 4:45am to what feels like way too many mornings. When early mornings (The 4 o’clock hour shouldn’t even be considered a morning hour. Ew.) turn into late nights, conquering the days become more and more difficult. But I refuse to lack in anything that I do. In my education, in my writing, in my worship nights, in leading and discipling young women, in my relationships. My goal: strive for excellence, not perfection.

 

My challenge to you? Push on, my little seedling. Work for it. Accomplish it. And challenge others to do the same.

 

 

 

About the post

blog posts

Leave a Reply

