the voyage: pt 2

“He will quiet you with His love.”

 

Jesus is enough. Forever and always, He is enough.

 

So, this past week was my first week attending college. And with all of my heart I wish I could tell you that it was one of the best weeks I could have ever imagined, but unfortunately it wasn’t. I’m blaming it on lack of sleep and the enemy trying to grab ahold of my mind. (I’m going to buy myself a ‘Not Today Satan’ t-shirt! 😉 ) But today I spent some much needed time with Jesus. I’m talking worship music cranked, knees to the floor, tears flooding down my cheeks and heart wide open…time with Jesus. The good stuff! (You should try it sometime. It’s very filling.)

 

While pictured myself with Jesus, I reflected back on something my mom said yesterday. She mentioned that He adores me. I was so in awe by the fact the He adores me! Do you know what adore means? It means to love or admire someone very much.

 


a·dore

əˈdô(ə)r/

verb

  • : to love or admire (someone) very much
  • : to like or desire (something) very much : to take great pleasure in (something)

 

 

Psalm 103:8 // The Lord is compassionate and gracious,

   slow to anger, abounding in love.

 


a·bound

əˈbound/

verb

:  to be present in large numbers or in great quantity :  be prevalent

:  to be copiously supplied


 

He ABOUNDS in love. It’s His nature. He IS love (1 John 4:8). Psalm 139 is such a beautiful chapter to partner with this point, read it! He knows everything about us, and there is no possible way to hide from Him. We are precious in His sight (Isaiah 43:4).

 

As I was expounding on this idea, I came across these verses from Zephaniah below. My favorite is the 7th line: “He will quiet you with His love.” My mind is so loud and clouded and wild, so I like the idea of God quieting my mind with His love. That sounds nice.

 

So today, I took some time to quiet my mind and linger in His presence. When I was worshiping – well, it was more me just mouthing the words because it’s hard to sing when your nose is stopped up from balling your eyes out. If you know what I mean 😉 – I closed my eyes and I felt God just say “Listen. Listen to me.” (Seriously God, arrow-in-my-heart.) I love it when He does that. Hits you right where you need it.

 

For me, listening to Him means to focus on His truth. To set aside the worry and anxiety that I may be feeling about my schooling and future, and just focus on His words. He loves me. He strengthens me. He makes me brave and courageous. And I am not to worry about tomorrow, He’s got it covered. (Matthew 6:34).

 

Zephaniah 3:16-17 // 

In that day it shall be said to Jerusalem:

“Do not fear;

Zion, let not your hands be weak.

The Lord your God in your midst,

The Mighty One, will save;

He will rejoice over you with gladness,

He will quiet you with His love,

He will rejoice over you with singing.”

 

In all honesty, I’m not exactly sure where I’m going with this post. Ha, I guess I just needed to vent a bit. So, if you’ve read it thus far…THANK YOU, you warrior you. This is where I’m at in life right now. I’m a complete mess, but God’s got me and that’s all I need to know.

 

But hey, if you’re reading and you feel the same way, let me be the one to tell you that you’re not alone. This life thing is hard. John 16:33 says, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” We can make it! #foreveronthewinningteam

I am the wind in your sails…

 

About the post

blog posts

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Rachel Hill 08.29.16 — 1:50 pm

    Sawyer of all the post you have written (and I have read each one) this truly spoke to my heart the most . It is inspiring and beautifully spoken. You are Adored

    not only by God but so many and that includes your GrandRents! We Love You and your Sweet Spirit! Move over Satan…here she comes!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

