the voyage

God is good.

 

Good feels like the worst adjective to use, because He deserves so much more, but my tiny human mind cannot fathom His greatness. My words are insufficient in comparison to how He speaks to me. But as I sit here, and hold out my heart in the palms of my hands, I try my best to explain how magnificent He is to me in hope that you will be inspired.

 

Over the past couple of weeks, at church, we’ve been talking about hearing God’s voice. And something that’s always intrigued me is how creative God is when it comes to Him talking to us. He can speak to us through the voices of others, or through the Bible, or directly from Him, when we choose to still ourselves and listen. But what’s cool is that He’s funny, and loving, and creative, and He weaves His way into every little crack and crevice in our lives. He knows exactly how we work, how we talk, and how we receive love.

 

So, just the other night we met for a mid-week worship evening for our church. Our pastor was finishing up his series and he had us do an exercise before we all left. He had us all get quiet, turn off our phones, and write on a blank piece of paper what God was laying on our hearts. The more I wrote, the more I got emotional. He reminded me that He’s my friend. That we can lay on a quilted blanket, with our hands resting beneath our heads, while looking up at a bright, blue sky and just talk life. He also reminded me that He knows me. Even when I feel like no one else understands, He does. He knows the desires of my heart, where I feel like I fall short, my dreams, and every other possible thing – even the things I have yet to discover.

 

This afternoon, He spoke to me through a song.
The Voyage: Amanda Cook.

Speak, even if your voice is trembling
Please, you’ve been quiet for so long
Believe, it’ll be worth the risk you’re taking

You’re afraid, but you can hear adventure calling
There’s a rush of adrenaline to your bones
What you make of this moment changes everything

What if the path you choose becomes a road
The ground you take becomes a home
The wind is high, but the pressure’s off
I’ll send the rain wherever we end up
Wherever we end up

Set your sights, sailing far beyond familiar
In the rising tide, you’ll find the rhythm of your heart
And lift your head, now the wind and waves don’t matter

What if the path you choose becomes a road
The ground you take becomes a home
The wind is high, but the pressure’s off
I’ll send the rain wherever we end up
Wherever we end up

I am the wind in your sails
I am the wind in your sails
I am the wind in your sails

 

My wild mind has so many things to say, but I can’t find the right words to explain this feeling. Ha, I guess I could simply say: God is good. 😉
I encourage you to take time to set the world aside and listen to your Creator! He loves you, and He hungers to build His relationship with you. Let Him be your BFF, He’s a great God to know!

 

About the post

blog posts

Leave a Reply

